Developing clinical prioritisation criteria

The key to the success of Clinical Prioritisation Criteria (CPC) is clinician involvement at every step of development and implementation.

The criteria are developed by Clinical Advisory Groups for relevant medical specialties. Each Clinical Advisory Group is made up of interested clinicians from across Queensland who work in allied health, general practice, nursing and specialist care.

Criteria are developed for the most common conditions regularly referred to public specialist outpatient services. Not every condition will require CPC, and others may be developed. CPC are reviewed regularly.

Clinical Advisory Groups are formed through an expression of interest process. Any clinician with relevant expertise, experience and/or interest is welcome to join as many groups as they choose, and to contribute as and when they are able. If you would like to register your interest email:

Clinical specialities

CPC are being developed in phases, phases 1-4 consisting of 396 conditions across 27 specialties. Phase 5 development started at the beginning of 2020 across 2 more specialties.

Phase 1 (Published)

  • Ear, nose and throat (ENT)
  • Gastroenterology
  • General surgery
  • Gynaecology
  • Neurology
  • Neurosurgery
  • Ophthalmology
  • Orthopaedics
  • Plastic and reconstructive surgery
  • Urology
  • Vascular surgery

Phase 2 (Published)

  • Oncology and Malignant Haematology
  • Diabetes & Endocrinology
  • General Paediatrics
  • Hepatology
  • Paediatric Ear, Nose and Throat (ENT)
  • Paediatric Surgery
  • Paediatric Neurosurgery

Phase 3 (Published)

  • General medicine
  • Cardiology
  • Kidney Medicine/Nephrology
  • Respiratory and sleep medicine
  • Persistent pain management
  • Genetic Health (Cancer and General)

Phase 4 (Published)

  • Audiology
  • Dementia and Cognitive Impairment
  • Paediatric Neurology
  • Paediatric Orthopaedics
  • Rheumatology

Phase 5 (Published)

  • Antenatal
  • Wound Management
Last updated: 13 January 2023