The Queensland Clinical Senate is made up of more than 90 members who bring a range of skills, experiences, ideas and views to the Senate. Members are committed to improving the health outcomes for Queenslanders and represent a wide range of professions and specialties across the public, private, primary and community health sectors and metropolitan, regional, rural and remote settings. Consumers and carer representation in the membership ensures the Senate’s advice reflects the needs and expectations of the community.

Members are appointed for three years and meet two to three times a year.

Download the Queensland Clinical Senate membership (PDF, 238KB)

Queensland Clinical Senate executive

The Queensland Clinical Senate is led by a chair, deputy chair and executive committee representative of the broader membership.

The executive leads Queensland Clinical Senate initiatives and provides advice to the Department of Health and Minister for Health on areas of strategic clinical importance.

The executive meets twice monthly. If you would like to present to the executive, please email outlining the topic for discussion, the relevance of the topic to the executive, desired outcomes and preferred timeframes for assessment by the Senate Chair.


Dr Alex Markwell

Chair of the Queensland Clinical Senate

Dr Alex Markwell is a Senior Staff Specialist at the Royal Brisbane and Women's Hospital Emergency and Trauma Centre. She is a Senior Lecturer with the University of Queensland and is currently the Chair of the Australasian College for Emergency Medicine (ACEM) Continuing Professional Development Committee. Alex is passionate about healthcare provider health, wellbeing, work-life flexibility, and is founding member of Wellness Resilience and Performance in Emergency Medicine. She is also a Past President of AMA Queensland.

Deputy Chair

Mr Chris Raftery

Deputy Chair of the Queensland Clinical Senate

Chris is a published nursing leader and emergency nurse practitioner, who is Nursing Director of Clinical Innovation and Advanced Practice at Gold Coast Hospital and Health Service. He is a leading identity with the development of advanced practice nursing and the role of the nurse practitioner, at a local, state and national level. Chris is the former national president of the Australian College of Nurse Practitioners, and current deputy chair of advanced practice with the Australian College of Nursing. Chris believes the future of delivering a high quality and cost-effective health system, involves building sustainable and innovative health delivery models, embracing technology and working smarter not harder, in meeting the Queensland community’s ever-evolving complex and diverse healthcare needs.

Executive Committee members

Mr Sean Birgan

With 32 years’ experience in the healthcare sector, Sean is the Director of Nursing and Co-Chair of the Division of Surgery at Princess Alexandra Hospital. He is also the Deputy Surgical Stream Leader of Metro South Health Service. With a keen interest in disaster management and preparedness, Sean is the Chair of the Metro South Disaster Management Advisory Committee and an Associate Fellow of the Australian College of Healthcare Service Executives. Sean has joined the Senate executive for the opportunity to discuss and debate the complex health issues with a view to continuing to improve the care we provide our patients.

Dr Anthony Brown

Dr Anthony Brown is the Executive Director of Medical Services, Torres and Cape Hospital and Health Service. He brings more than 30 years’ experience to the Senate Executive. Dr Brown is a board member of the Rural Doctors Association of Queensland Foundation and a member of the small hospitals working group, Queensland Maternal and Perinatal Quality Council, and the Rural and Remote Network.

Dr Brown sits on the Royal Flying Doctor Service credentialing committee and is a Regional eHealth Project Examiner for the Australian College of Rural and Remote Medicine.  Dr Brown's areas of interest include indigenous health, rural generalism - in particular general practice obstetrics - primary health delivery and medical administration.

Dr Brown believes the Senate is an excellent clinician-led forum designed to improve health systems and patient outcomes with a proven track record in making positive change.

Dr Erin Evans

Erin is Chair of Health Consumers Queensland and she also chairs the Queensland Genomics Community Group.

She values the opportunity for consumers and clinicians to partner at the Clinical Senate to influence positive changes to the health system and enable better health outcomes for all Queenslanders.

Erin has a background as a medical researcher and executive in the Biotech sector and NGOs. She is an adjunct lecturer at QUT and freelance consultant. She specialises in working with leaders and organisations around the world to navigate uncertainty and tackle systemic transformation of complex challenges.

Prof Liz Kenny AM

Prof Liz Kenny AO is a Senior Radiation Oncologist at the Royal Brisbane and Women's Hospital. Liz has served as the Dean of the Faculty of Radiation Oncology for the Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Radiologists, and the President of the Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Radiologists. She has been awarded Honorary Memberships of the European Society of Radiology and the Radiological Society of North America, Honorary Fellowships of the American College of Radiology, British Institute of Radiology and the Royal College of Radiologists and a Distinguished Fellowship of the Cardiovascular and Interventional Society of Europe. Liz chairs the RANZCR Artificial Intelligence Working Group.

Dr David Rimmer

Dr Rimmer was the EDMS of Central West HHS from 2013 until 2019, with a mission to create the workplace of choice for the new generation of rural generalists. He currently works as a Rural Generalist SMO in Longreach supervising the next generation of doctors. He graduated from The University of Queensland in 1977, and holds FRACGP, FACRRM, A/FRACMA and DRANZCOG. David has ongoing interests in doctor’s health, medical education, indigenous health and rural medicine. He is a Board Member of Western Qld PHN, and sits on the Rural and Remote Credentialing Committee. David joined the Clinical Senate to bring his knowledge of diverse work environments, including private general practice, to inform clinical system design.

Ms Annette Scott

Annette is the Executive Director of Allied health for the Darling Downs Hospital and Health Service. She is a physiotherapist by background and has numerous years of experience as a clinician delivering direct patient care in both the public and private health sectors. For the last 5 years she has provided Executive Management oversight to the delivery of allied health services across the Darling Downs region. Annette sees opportunity through her involvement in the Queensland Clinical Senate to work with clinicians in identifying opportunities for improving health service integration and health system redesign.

Ms Roslyn Wharton-Boland

Roslyn Wharton-Boland is an Aboriginal woman of the Mardigan and Kooma tribes of South West Queensland and is a senior registered nurse in Queensland Health. She is the Nurse Unit Manager for Community Health, in Woorabinda, Central Queensland HHS and Adjunct Lecturer at the University of Queensland. Roslyn is passionate about influencing people on a professional platform to improve health equity for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander’s.

Last updated: 3 August 2020